Sunday, November 8, 2009 Puttering in Helen’s Haven

IMG_2331

Spent a nice weekend visiting  my brother and his family (wife Charmaine and Kids Hannah, John, Helena, Sara, James) and our dad at Arlington National Cemetery.  Thanks to all our veterans!

Not only did we have  a great visit, but were able to spend some time with the cousins touring around DC.  I saw more of DC during this visit then when I lived here for 3 year.  It was the most enjoyable time.

Here is a photo of the cousins with my dad at Arlington National Cemetry:

IMG_2341

My sister-in-law is a wheel.  In the 1980’s, she was an intern at the White House during undergraduate school.  She worked in the East Wing.  Now she is a president of a non-profit in a corner office overlooking the very building she once worked.  Nice view of the Washington Memorial too.  Of course, I quip, “Your Ph.D didn’t take you far, just a block over and up.”

While there, I stumbled upon the US Botanic Gardens.  My friend kk told me to go, but somehow I didn’t realize it was where it was.  I was magical – right there at the foot of the Capitol.  Will post about that later.

Wrote a blog post on why I use Twitter called Cheatin’ through Tweetin’ Sipping from the Social Media Water Cooler

Posted November Maintenance Guide

IMG_2092

Lara Rose catching a grasshopper


Continued to put Helen’s Haven to bed gathering 3 yard waste cans full of cutback .  My target this week:

  • Took down beans
  • Some Castors
  • Some Zinnias
  • Hydrangea Sinensis

2008 May 4 061

Trimmed back climbing rose ‘Stairway to Heaven’ on the Children’s arbor entrance.  Most likely, I will replace this rose with a Clematis Armandii.  This rose is too high maintenance…although I love it in the spring.

Got my book concept nailed, drafted the Table of Contents.  This is going to be fun.

Still waiting for first real frost.

Copy and photos by Helen Yoest

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening With Confidence Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her Facebook page, the Gardening With Confidence fan page. Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum.

1 Comment »

  1. Carole Brown said

    I’m waiting with baited breath for your book. I can hardly wait to see what will roll off your pen!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment