The Book of Six © Six End of Season To-dos

As the fall season ends and we put our gardens to bed for the winter, here are six end of season to-dos to ready for spring gardening.

  1. Seeds – collect, organize, and store.
  2. Clean and put away pots.
  3. Cut back herbaceous plants – watch for harboring wildlife.
  4. Rake and mow leaves – put into the beds – it makes great mulch.
  5. Sharpen and put away tools  – Clean out the shed…how many of those tool did you actually use?
  6. Clean up potting bench – clean away the falling leaves and mess created by fall container planting.
Careful during the fall clean up so this Praying Mantid egg case doesn’t end up in the compost

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening with Confidence™

Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her facebook  friend’s page, Helen Yoest or Gardening With Confidence™ Face Book Fan Page.

Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum

6 Comments »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Helen Yoest, barbara wise. barbara wise said: Useful info! RT @HelenYoest: Book of Six © Six End of Season Garden To-dos http://bit.ly/566WKc […]

  2. Janet said

    what luck to have an praying mantis egg sack!

    • I know, right? When we did a photo shoot in September we used a visiting praying mantis in the shoot. I guess it was a she and she left a present. H.

  3. Gail said

    Helen, I don’t think I’ve seen a mantis case before~~But the mantis are here, so surely there’s a case some where! Thanks for the photo. gail

    • Gail, I had never seen one before. In fact, I didn’t know what it was. Had @AboutInsects on Twitter id it for me. H.

  4. Great tips! I’m always pleased when I come across a mantis egg case, makes me feel like I did something right in the garden!
    GartenGrl at Planning Plants to Plant

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment