Archive for January 8, 2009

Little Gem Magnolia – precious or semi-precious?

When the Magnolia grandiflora ‘Little Gem’ first hit the market, prayers were answered.  Now we were able to have all the grace and glamour of the full sized Southern Magnolia grandiflora, but one that would fit in the gardens of mere mortals, not just estates. november-30-2008-0351

The Little Gem was truly a precious gem that entered the market place. Over the years, they have been used and misused.

Just recently, during my carpool ride, I noticed such misuse that I felt compelled to write about it.

november-30-2008-038

After viewing the  photo above, please give me your opinion as to how this happened.

My questions are:

  1. Are these just bad specimens?
  2. Why are there so few limbs?
  3. Not all Little Gems are so bare looking.   Should the nursery have listed these trees on their availability list?
  4. Should the landscaper have chosen these for his client?
  5. If he did, how did he explain their effect to his client? How did the story go, “Oh they’ll fill in and cover the utility housing nicely. You’ll see, pay me, bye–e.”

Tell me what you think!

Comments (17)