Sunday, December 13, 2009 Puttering In Helen’s Haven

This week has been cold, too cold for my liking.  No much going on in the garden – not because it is cold, that wouldn’t stop me, but rather, I’ve been busy getting ready for the holidays.  Going to parties, parties, and more parties, for and by everyone, it seems….plus another chapter in my book.

There is still maintenance to do in the garden, if you are so inclined, This Month in the Garden – December

When it is this cold, a little December Inspiration goes a long way.

This piece shot in Raleigh with Beth Jimenez and Amalia Lane with Lasting Impressions Making a Hypertufa Trough – Better Homes and Gardens finally came out.

Spoke to the Wake Forest Garden Club.  Lots of fun.  From that preparation, I wrote a couple of blog post that will show up this week and next.  Here’s the kick off. Book of Six © Six Easy Pieces to Create Awesome Christmas Decorations.

Here’s another How to Create a Boxwood Topiary for Your Holiday Decorations.

If you need to be reminded how to choose a live tree, these tips are for you Book of Six © Six Tips When Choosing a Live Christmas Tree.

And finally, my  friend Kathy Jentz, published and editor of Washington Gardener Magazine got me to do this Honest Scrap Award, Honestly Who Cares?

I made it to the Farmer’s Market and was happy to see the apples are still plentiful. Picked up 2 big bags of Pink Ladies.  While I was there a chocolate croissant met with $3.00 from my wallet, passed through my lips, and landed happily in my belly. I look for this baker every time I’m at the NC State’s Farmer’s Market and I don’t know their name.  I am ashamed of this.  I will make a point this week to get their name and place of business.  I do know they are in Durham, so I’m grateful they come to Raleigh to sell.  They make the best croissant outside of France…in my humble opinion.


Friday night, I went to the preview party (and sale) at Goldbug Studio in Raleigh. They are a wholesaler with the most interesting wares selling to places like Anthropologie.  I make no secret that Anthropologie is my favorite store in the whole wide world.  Ashley’s art is exactly what you would find at Anthropologie, so I’m not surprised.  Even the studio she works from could be the back drop for an Anthropologie’s catalogue photo shoot.

Goldbug opens to the public 2 times a year.  I am already waiting for the next opening.  I wanted to get so much more, but I was over stimulated on Friday night. The next morning, once recovered,  I went back only to be disappointed to find, what I dreamed about all night was already sold.  That will teach me.

I passed this opening to my girlfriends at The Bloomsbury Garden Club.  A few went and emailed me their thanks for turning them on to it…summed it by saying, “Magical.”  Magical indeed.  Part vintage, part fashion forward, part nostalgia.  I wish I could have spent the night.

The ones that got away.

I did bring home a gold bird, a silver bird, a gold pumpkin; and of course, a gold bug.  I now regret, I didn’t get a blue bird and a green bird, and…..

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening with Confidence™

Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her facebook friend’s page, Helen Yoest or Gardening With Confidence™ Face Book Fan Page.

Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum

2 Comments »

  1. Gail said

    It looks like a great place to find just that perfect something to make the holiday decorations shine. Isn’t the simple branch above the mantle~~a perfect decoration. gail

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

