Sunday, November 15, 2009 Puttering in Helen’s Haven

Today is also Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day I hope you enjoy what is happening in Helen’s Haven, Raleigh, NC today.

I managed to fill 8 more cans of Castor Beans and Cannas.  After that, I ran out of cans, but not energy.  As such, I clipped more and hauled about 8 more can equivalents to the compost pile.

Planted some great plants given to me to test by the growers.

  • 3 Proven Winners  Hydrangea arbborescens Invincibelle™ Spirit.  One went into the xeric Woodland Too bed, another in the Mixed Border and the third in the Red Bed.
  • 1 Novalis Plants That Work™ Mahonia eurybracteata ‘Soft Caress’
IMG_2705

Hydrangea arbborescens Invincibelle™ Spirt

IMG_2709
I’m nursing this for my friend kk

Also planted:

  • Camellia transnokoensis form Camellia Forest in the Red Bed
  • Viburnum plicatum ‘Popcorn’ in the Mixed Border
  • Illicium floridanum ‘Halley’s Comet’ in the Woodland Too bed.
IMG_2707

Camellia

IMG_2698

Viburunum

IMG_2699

Illicium

I’m taking a chance on the ‘Soft Caress’  It is zoned for 7b and as you know, I like to wrap a zone around my plants.  However, I had nice spot on the South side in the Secret garden.  How there is enough water there for it.

Also taking a chance on the Illicium floridanum ‘Halley’s Comet’.  That went in a xeric garden and it is a thirsty plant.  However, I do have a water storage unit there to hand dip into if need be.

  • Pulled Zinnia
  • Cut back Lantana
  • Cut back Salvia
  • Mowed
  • Cut back swamp sunflowers
  • Cut back sweet autumn Clematis
  • Cut back Joe Pye Weed
  • Pruned roses
  • Pulled some Virginia Creeper from the White Pine tree
  • Admired the Hellebores planed in Woodland Too bed.  They are finally filling
  • Also planted a fern given to me by my friend Rita Mercer who is an expert in dry shade.  It is a fern that can go into dry shade.  Planted it in the Woodland Too bed, a xeric garden.

I’m tired.

The kids had off Friday through Tuesday so we took a long weekend to DC.

IMG_2104

IMG_2106

IMG_2182

IMG_2184

IMG_2191

IMG_2249

IMG_2246

IMG_2234

IMG_2482

Like mother, like daughter

IMG_2503

IMG_2467

IMG_2508

IMG_2454

IMG_0345

IMG_2484

IMG_2095

IMG_2553

IMG_2337

IMG_2351
My dad’s grandkids. He died before any were born.

IMG_0382

IMG_2323

 

November Garden Maintenance

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening With Confidence™

Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her facebook  friend’s page, Helen Yoest or Gardening With Confidence™ Face Book Fan Page.

Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum

12 Comments »

  1. Janet said

    Helen, my dear, you do not putter……..I think you are in high gear all the time to get done what you get done.
    Your garden is lovely as always.
    Looks like you had a great trip to DC. Nice for the kids to see Arlington too.

  2. Thank you for sharing your pics from the trip! It looks like y’all had fun! Love the USBG in the fall. How pretty!

  3. Ok Janet, I will concede this week. It was more than a putter – esp since it was done on part of Saturday and most of Sunday. Threw

  4. Hey Katie, I bet you got here thinking you were going to GBBD. Thanks for staying – lol. H.

  5. Les said

    What a great celebration of your father. He may not have lived to see all those grandchildren, but I am sure he is proud.

  6. Thanks Les, my dad was a pretty neat guy. He would have LOVED all his grandkids. H.

  7. Kathleen said

    Nice write-up. Beautiful photos. Thank you for sharing. Lara Rose looks so grown up. Your dad was smiling and hugging you that day.
    The bird shot was beautiful!

  8. Helen, Happy Bloom Day! I don’t know if I told you this, but when we visited your garden, I felt so at home there. I think it’s because you and I garden in a similar style and love many of the same plants. So nice to see so many of yours still blooming too.~~Dee

  9. I see that Dee! Can’t wait to meet your garden one day. H.

  10. tina said

    Lucky you to get free plants to trial. If you know any growers in my area just drop them my name okay?:) Having never visited D.C. to sight see (only to pass thru) your long weekend looks wonderful! I especially enjoyed the memorial shots.

  11. Hey Tina, I lived in DC for 3 years, but b/c of my travel schedule I rarely played tourist. And when I did, I never parked myself at the Mall to toured around. It was fabulous. We spend 2 solid days just making a circle starting and ending at metro station. the next day, we did it again, picking up what we missed the first day. Ideal!. H. gotta go, I think that is you emailing me…

  12. Enjoyed the photos–bloom day and DC. Glad you all had a lovely visit. Happy day! –Kelly

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

