Sunday, November 1, 2009 Puttering in Helen’s Haven

Daylight savings time ended at 2:00 AM today.  I loath loosing evening light.  I suppose it’s because I am such a morning person, I can get up regardless of the light level.  But I tend to want to go to sleep when the sun sets…making it very difficult to stay up late enough to get my kids to bed!

This week, I was interviewed by the news about my  garden water conservation efforts.  NBC17 Water Conversation Story

Received two varieties of pansy introductions from Goldsmith Seeds to trial:  Mammoth On Fire  and Mammoth Queen Yellow Bee

Helen's Haven trials Mammoth On Fire and Queen Yellow Bee

Helen's Haven trials Mammoth On Fire and Queen Yellow Bee

Friday, I was Carole Brown’s guest blogger at Ecosystems Gardens.  Thank you Carole Helen’s Haven Wildlife Habitat

Here’s another post about bees, this time about bees in general Book of Six © Six Facts About Honey Bees

I mowed, but beyond that,  I can’t think of a thing I did in the garden.

IMG_1965

Grass, emotional goth person, IRS agent

2009 Halloween costumes:

Lily is grass, angry grass.

Lara Rose, is an emotional goth.

Aster was scariest of all, an IRS agent.

Copy and photos by Helen Yoest

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening With Confidence Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her Facebook page, the Gardening With Confidence fan page. Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum.

7 Comments »

  1. Kat said

    The kid’s costumes are awesome. How clever. Actually I saw quite a few clever costumes this year. Seems like kids these days are a bit more creative than we were when I was trick or treating.

  2. IRS Agent is a great one – I’m going to have to fwd this to my two friends who work at IRS – LOL!

  3. Kat, when we were kids, we made our own costumes. As the years went on, it became big business sell costumes. Before you knew it, it cost $120 to outfit 3 kids. So this year, I challenged my kids to make their own. It worked out very well. Not only did it save money, it brought out their creativity, which would have otherwise been limited to selection from the rack.

  4. Ok Kathy, but make sure you write in “destruct in 5 second” code too…

  5. tina said

    Cute picture of the kids! I bet lots of folks ran from these costumes-especially the IRS agent.

  6. Janet said

    Cute costumes! Great ideas.

  7. Thanks Tina and Janet…the sure did look cute. H.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

