October 27, 2009 City of Raleigh Water Conversation Efforts

Asters garden 005

At Helen’s Haven, water wise gardening and water conservation are as important as the plants.  Since experiencing the worse drought in 100 years in 2007, my garden was redesigned to plan for the future…a long future.  While I began these efforts to garden FOREVER, I now do it to satisfy my conscious.  I know I’m doing my part to conserve water for the future of gardening, for lifestyle, for need.

Helen’s Haven recently aired on TV  MyNC

Lesson your footprint Water Wise Gardening

It is also important for me to share that water wise gardening is only one of several aspects of sustainable gardening.  Just one brick in the wall.  Check out other articles in my column entitled Lesson Your Footprint.

October in the Garden Maintenance Tips

Copy and photos by Helen Yoest

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening With Confidence Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her Facebook page, the Gardening With Confidence fan page. Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum.

8 Comments »

  1. linda said

    Congratulations on the TV spot Helen! Kudos for all you’re doing to conserve water.

  2. Thank you Linda. I makes gardening so much easier when you make the sustainability commitment.

  3. Gail said

    Helen, Congrats on your TV spot. I would love to bring a cistern here to start collecting and saving water. Next summer we will all look back at this 20+ inches of rain we’ve had this fall and wish we had collected it! gail

  4. I’m also rethinking my garden this year to simplify its care and feeding, and to create greater impact. Mine is dry, dry, dry sand, sand, sand. Nevertheless, I’m going for minimal intervention. Right now, am in “creative staring” mode. Staring at all that water going down the drain would make my blood boil.

  5. Wow Gail, 20 inches. These are good lessons to learn from Here in Raleigh where we are use to 44 inches a year and to be 4 inches below is hard, but not nearly like it was in 2007 or what you got hit with. If I was building a new home I would have installed an in ground cistern. As it is, I have one 250 gallon collection unit and another to store. Plus 4 80 gallon storage units around the property. Works for me H.

  6. Hey Helen, I look forward to watching your garden’s progress. It took a major event to make it happen for me, but so glad it didn’t figure it would pass. It’s only going to get worse. These are changes in the way I garden and have never looked badk. H.

  7. Racquel said

    Congrats on the tv spotlight of your garden. We could all do our part to conserve water for future needs. 🙂

  8. […] This week, I was interviewed by the news about my  garden water conservation efforts.  NBC17 Water Conversation Story […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

