Sunday, October 4, 2009 Puttering In Helen’s Haven

Helen's Haven 023

A glorious fall week.  The Garden Writers Association ended on Sunday evening, and very little has been done in Helen’s Haven since.  I spent a busy week in the office, but then took Saturday and Sunday off.

My big news is the book deal with Cool Springs Press.  We re still working out the format of the book, but we have a concept and I am going foward.  Writing a gardening has long been on my list of experiences I desired.  I cherish the opportunity to live the experience.

Other gardening news, my October column is out Fine Gardening’s October Inspiration.  I hope you enjoy it.

Billy Goodnick,  for a Fine Gardening post, interviewed many garden writers at the national conference held in Raleigh. What Plants Did You Kill This Year He also asked which plants did you put in. Very funny. Hope you enjoy it.

Enjoyed listing to Brent and Becky Heath’s podcast: http://tinyurl.com/y9twr6o

Brent and Becky sell a great bulbs and are really neat people…they are the  kind of people you just want to be with and absorb.

Garden Rant enjoyed their visit to Raleigh for Garden Writers.  Here is what friend Elizabeth Licata had to say on her post, plus my response:

Peace and love in the garden – through plants. http://bit.ly/17fSKH

And finally, here is a podcast from Garden World Report http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FNaG9UhGVA

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

4 Comments »

  1. Robin said

    Congrats on your upcoming book. You will probably be able to do this in your sleep! I vote for lots of photos from the haven.

  2. Thanks Robin, I’ll try to say awake for the juicy bits! H.

  3. Goodness gracious! You have been BUSY! Congrats on the book!

  4. Les said

    Congratulations, and what will you be writing about, or is it too young to say? I enjoyed your Fine Gardening piece, but you left out the aroma of Eleagnus, so I covered it.

    Les

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

