Beyond Bunnies – Sculpture in the Garden at the North Carolina Botanical Gardens, Chapel Hill

In my world of beyond bunnies, art in the garden that is better than a concrete bunny, the Sculpture in the Garden 21st annual garden art show at the NC Botanical Garden spoke to me – loudly!

If I was willing to part with $3,200, she would be mine.

Lady in Yellow by Tinka Jordy

Lady in Yellow by Tinka Jordy

Here is what the artist, Tinka Jordy from Hillsborough, NC says about her work.  “I am interested in reflecting the human condition in relationship with other life, in all its fragility yet, incredible perseverance.

The surface of the sculpture is full of cracks, fissures and imperfections that express the earth, the passing of time, our mortality, endurance, and the stresses of life, both physical and emotional.  I choose to work in clay as it [is] the one material, that if I listen closely, communicates these sentiments so beautifully.”

2009 GWA (18)

She is about my height and size and our crackling is about the same…perhaps, that is what has drawn me in.  Not sure the reason, other than her pure beauty…I have just the place for you in my garden.

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

9 Comments »

  1. Nancy Locker said

    That’s why you see so many bunnies in gardens… much more economical!!
    (But she IS gorgeous!)

  2. Diane said

    She is very special. I would certainly find a place for her if I had that kind of budget to spend on decorative objects. My fairy wings were $ rather than $$$ – http://blog.yardfairy.com/2009/09/unusual-objects-in-garden.html
    Thanks for posting about her. I hope the artist gets lots of offers!

  3. […] Beyond Bunnies – Sculpture in the Garden at the North Carolina Botanical Gardens, Chapel Hill « G… gardensgardens.wordpress.com/2009/09/30/beyond-bunnies-sculpture-in-the-garden-at-the-north-carolina-botanical-gardens-chapel-hill – view page – cached Beyond Bunnies – Sculpture in the Garden at the North Carolina Botanical Gardens, Chapel Hill — From the page […]

  4. Of course you are right Nancy, but she is so beautiful. Besides, imagine a bunny in your garden the size of us. It would down right scare your sweet grand kids into becoming bunny haters.

  5. Me too Diane…also the NCBG gets 40% (I think) from the sale. H.

  6. Helen, I thought she was the most beautiful creature in the garden, and that garden was wonderful. Thanks for sharing her with everyone.~~Dee

  7. […] In my world of beyond bunnies, art in the garden that is better than a concrete bunny, the Sculpture in the Garden 21st annual garden art show at the NC Botanical Garden spoke to me – loudly! If I was willing to part with $3200, … See the rest here: Beyond Bunnies – Sculpture in the Garden at the North Carolina … […]

  8. tina said

    The artist did a great job of reflecting the relationship, no doubt about it. She is lovely.

  9. I know, right Dee? The other art was nice, but she is something! H.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

