Sunday, September 13, 2009 Puttering in Helen’s Haven

Helen's Haven 024

As if I didn’t have enough to do, I decided the north side Office Bed needed to be widened.  The Limelight Hydrangeas liked the spot so much, the space was cramped.  As such, I popped 2 of the 3 Hydrangeas and repositioned them.  I haven’t had the nerve yet to see how they are doing.  But I guess if I’m going to show a before and after, I need to go have a look and take a photograph.

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

Ugh, I guess I need to get watering!

One the professional front, I have been named a contributing editor for Fine Gardening writing a monthly column on garden inspirations Fine Gardening September Inspiration

Met with Thomas Sayre about the model he is gifting me.  What an unbelieveable talent Raleigh and world has in Thomas. More Thomas

Getting ready for a garden tour is a blog post in itself.  There are strategies to succeed. For the most part, getting ready for a fall tour is all about timing and dead heading.  A fall tour has no room for flash and dash; it is about maturity, color, form and movement.  As I get ready for next weekend’s Garden Conservancy’s Open Days Tour, also benefiting the JC Raulston Arboretum, I had much to do:

  • Mulch front beds.  Back beds were done last week.
  • Weed
  • Dead head
  • Dead leaf
  • Added some daffs when I widened the north Office Bed
  • A morning glory co-mingled my snail vine talking away form the snail vines glory.  Pruned out the morning glory.
  • Enjoyed the surprise lilies.  In Helen’s Haven and all over Raleigh.  Wonderful sight to behold.
Snail Vine

Snail Vine

Helen’s Haven is still enjoying a bumper crop of figs – best year ever!

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

9 Comments »

  1. Billy Goodnick said

    The hydrandeas look better distributed now. Garden looks lovely. Can’t wait to meet you at GWA and HUGE congrat on the Fine Gardening job. Welcome to the family!

  2. tina said

    I just had my first taste of fresh figs and loved them! I want to tell you good luck with those limelights. I just moved a large one that had been place for about 3-4 years and let me tell you, it is NOT doing well. Looks really really bad despite almost daily watering and cutting back a bit. I am more stressed than it but I hope it will bounce back next year. You are most brave to move these right before a tour.

  3. Thanks Billy!

  4. Hey Tina,

    I was afraid of that. I weighted the risks. Still feel it was better to move and free the space, risking the loss of the hydrangeas. The space looks better My only regret is Proven Winners, Limelights marketer and Spring Meadows, Limelights grower will be here on the 23rd and will see the demise! H.

  5. tina said

    Let me know if they hang on to looking good so I can know if I did something wrong. I moved mine last Sunday during a rain and thought they’d stay nice, but no. Now they are all wilted and yellow and look very bad. I water daily though and know it should recover but I did not expect this. I moved an abelia the same time and it looks better than it did before I moved it!

  6. Will do Tina! In July, I moved 2 sky pencil hollies and they look NO different. I also moved a ‘Black Lace’ elderberry. It appeared to croak immediately, but within a couple of days, it sent out new growth. It is not as full as when I moved it, but surprisingly good looking. H.

  7. Janet said

    Love your flagstone pathway. The gardens look great…hope the hydrangea hold on.
    I got some figs from my ballet teacher in July and they were wonderful. What variety of fig tree do you have?

  8. […] Sunday, September 13, 2009 Puttering in Helen’s Haven « Gardening With Confidence ™ gardensgardens.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/sunday-september-13-2009-puttering-in-helens-haven – view page – cached September 13, 2009 at 10:24 am · Filed under Helen's Haven ·Tagged Helen Yoest, Helen's Haven — From the page […]

  9. Hey Janet, its a Brown Turkey fig. And given the price of them in the grocery story – 79 cents each, its worth it’s wait in gold.

    The flagstone was left over from when the back porch was created. Thanks, I love it too.
    H.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

