Sunday August 9, 2009 A week puttering in Helen’s Haven

Summer arrived.  The good news,  she brought with her afternoon rains.  The rains made us ripe for mosquitoes and fungus.  I even wondered if there was a likelihood of getting yellow fever.  Dear, dear, the weird thoughts that go through my mind as I work in the heat!

Wildlife 006

The week was busy doing everything and nothing at the same time.  I moved some plants – do not try this at home.  My thinking was they were too crowed where they were.  If I lost them, it would be no great loss, they were already forgotten where they were.

I wrote a book proposal.  Yep, I did.  I have no clue if  a publisher will like the book idea or not.  But I will say, it was an excellent exercise in organization.  If nothing else, I realized I have a lot to say, but I already knew that.  I’m not easily discouraged.  I will wait until after three or five or seven letters of rejection before I throw in the towel.

This week’s garden fun:

  • Removed the last of the Acuba that were put in when the house was built in 1972.  I would hack it back often, but finally, I decided to dig out the stump.  Stubborn, she was!  What shocked me most and shouldn’t have, because I see it all too often, it was planted 18 inches from the foundation.
  • Moved some ginger to this location plus other pockets around the gardens.
  • Weeded the spurge – ugh!
  • Moved an elderberry – no way she will make it! lol
  • Mowed
  • Sowed the last of the Zinnias
  • Fill the feeders
  • Add clean water to the bird baths

With the excitement of the book proposal behind me, I was able to clear my head to finish current projects.  Now, I must head out to gather photos for 5 upcoming talks!

Meet Salvo.  Aster's adopted green anole

Meet Salvo. Aster's adopted green anole

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

7 Comments »

  1. tina said

    Congrats on your book proposal! Good luck too. That ole aucuba was so big I do bet it was a struggle. What will you put there now?

  2. I tend to move plants when I remember. If I leave it till the “right” time of year I forget to do it. The lizard is very attractive – something we don’t have her unfortunately.

  3. Tina, Thanks! I’m not replacing it with anything. I using the room for the Hinoki to spread. H.

  4. Easygardener – Atin’t that the truth! I am finally past feeling sentimental about a plant. If I had all the time in the world, I would add it to a list to do when the time was right…but it just doesn’t seem to work that way. I’m OK with that. H.

  5. I love Aster’s Anole! I had Anoles as a child, Cedric was my favorite. He used to escape and hide under the side flap of my bedspread. It was a good thing he had a long tail that gave him away!

    Nice post, Helen, can’t wait to see your garden when I come to Raleigh (all registered and travel booked!) lls

  6. TC said

    My book proposal gathers an ever growing layer of dust. Perhaps it’s time to make another attempt.

  7. Les said

    May your news from your proposal only be good.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

