Sunday July 26, 2009 A week puttering in Helen’s Haven

Last week was such a busy week having Steve Bender, senior editor, Southern Living magazine  and photographer, Ralph Anderson, in town for photo shoots.  But, as always when a magazine editors come to town, the days are very fun.   Steve posted this very nice thank you on his website  Gracias from the Grump.

Steve Bender and Ralph Anderson

Steve Bender and Ralph Anderson

No rest for the wicked though, as  soon as Steve left, I packed the kids up and heading for the Outer Banks for a working holiday.  While the kids were in surf camp, I took photos.   It was a wonderful break.  At every turn,  my lens found a flower, insect, or bird.  I captured some sightings from the Outer Banks while we were gone.

When the kids did stand up, I wasn't shooting - really!

When the kids did stand up, I wasn't shooting - really!

Manteo 2009 098

Lily split her eye open on the surf board...still smiling though.

Lily split her eye open on the surf board...still smiling though.

Dead heading and dead leafing were waiting for me when I returned.  Enough said.  I think  I have the garden in shape, at least for a few days when more of the same will be needed.

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

6 Comments »

  1. Janet said

    You are one busy lady. Think the last time we went to the Outer Banks there were no waves. What a bummer.
    I am hoping for some rain today….we are so dry!

  2. That’s always a problem Janet. The conditions were good at some point each day. In fact, the conditions lasted longer then my kids desire. Not that they didn’t like it, they did. But it wore them out!
    H.

  3. tina said

    Looks like fun! You need a break now I think. Tell the kiddos we say hello.

  4. Will do Tina!

  5. Looks like those lessons are paying off. He’ll be shooting the curls in no time! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Racquel said

    Sometimes we all need a break. :) Thanks for all your kind words on my post today.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

