Sunday, July 12, 2009 A week puttering in Helen’s Haven

It was a slow week in the garden.  Most of the week was spent keeping up with Southern Living’s Grumpy Gardener and photographer Ralph Anderson.

We did get some much needed rain.  Rain gauge suggests we got 2 half inches of rain.  Things perked right up after the rain.

The fun I had and the things I didn’t get to this week in the garden:

  • The Screech Owl box came in, but didn’t have time to pick it up.
  • Pulled mucho Monarda.
  • Lined out several 2010 stories for various magazines.
  • Worked a little on my book outline.
  • Saw the deer visiting again.  Traveling past all the usual deer favorites, this one heads straight back to a weeping cherry ‘Snow Fountain’.
  • Oh yes, my BIG news – I got a new lens 18 – 270  Here is my first wildlife photo with it.

July2009 Southern Living Visit 117

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

10 Comments »

  1. Janet said

    Beautiful photo Helen. Great color and love the butterfly!

  2. tina said

    That swallowtail looks great on the lantana! Slow weeks in the garden are nice. None here for me as we got the same rain and I am busily reworking numerous beds. Urgh! A good feeling when one or two get done though. I’ve been giving away plants left and right. Probably about time. Have a great week this week!

  3. Les said

    We had similar good news this week, I broke down (with the emphasis on broke, as in no money) and bought a new digital SLR. So hopefully you will see better photos soon. Of course my first trip since then was on the boat, and I would not risk it, afterall it is not entirely paid for yet.

  4. Congrats on your camera and great shot.

  5. Got rid of my old pic but the new one looks like I’m picking my nose huh?

  6. Margaret said

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Margaret

    http://howtomakecompost.info

  7. Watch out for those deer! Guard the phlox and hide your hostas.

    Cameron

  8. Helen said

    Les, You should have saved your money. You already take the best photos around. H.

  9. Helen said

    Ha ha Anna! I love a girl who loves change.

    FWIW Same ole camera; Nes lens.

  10. Helen said

    I hear ya,Cameron! Here’s a deer tip – plant a weeping snow fountain cherry. They make a beeline to it – pasting all sorts of yummies!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

