July 2009 Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day at Helen’s Haven

Once again, Helen’s Haven in Raleigh, NC looks around the garden for Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day.  Carol at May Dreams Gardens started this as a nod to Elizabeth Lawrence. Here’s my nod to Carol. Enjoy!

Some of the Mixed Border at Helen's Haven

Some of the Mixed Border at Helen's Haven

A couple Cross Vine Blossoms saying Hey

A couple Cross Vine Blossoms saying Hey

Sorgum, cleome

Sorgum, cleome

Tiger Lily

Tiger Lily

Gardenia 'Radicans'

Gardenia 'Radicans'

Crepe Mrytle variety unknown

Crepe Mrytle variety unknown

Crepe Mrytle 'Natchez'

Crepe Mrytle 'Natchez'

Alyssium

Alyssium

Daylily variety unknown

Daylily variety unknown

Lily pertending she's a cucumber.  Shown here with Aster's crop

Lily pertending she's a cucumber. Shown here with Aster's crop

Stokesia laevis 'Peachies Pick'

Stokesia laevis 'Peachies Pick'

Heliotropium amplexicaule

Heliotropium amplexicaule

Hydrangea 'Limelight'

Hydrangea 'Limelight'

Rudbeckia, probably Goldstrum

Rudbeckia, probably Goldstrum

Crepe Mrytle Dynomite

Crepe Mrytle Dynomite

Volunteer vinca

Volunteer vinca

Sedums

Sedums

Blooming early - Society garlic

Blooming early - Society garlic

Buddleja 'White Ball'

Buddleja 'White Ball'

Eupatorium purpureum 'Little Joe'

Eupatorium purpureum 'Little Joe'

Verbena bonarienis

Verbena bonarienis

Zephyranthes White Rain Lily with no rain in 3 weeks

Zephyranthes White Rain Lily with no rain in 3 weeks

Asclepias tuberosa

Asclepias tuberosa

Dragon winged begonia

Dragon winged begonia

Purple cone flower - missed by the bunnies

Purple cone flower - missed by the bunnies

Veronica spicata 'Goodness Grows'

Veronica spicata 'Goodness Grows'

Lantana 'Miss Huff'

Lantana 'Miss Huff'

Rudbeckia 'Hirta'

Rudbeckia 'Hirta'

Hibiscus 'Rose Mallow'

Hibiscus 'Rose Mallow'

Can anyone id this Crepe Myrtle for me?  About 6'H x 8'W

Can anyone id this Crepe Myrtle for me? About 6'H x 8'W

6 foot Crepe Myrtle unknown variety

6 foot Crepe Myrtle unknown variety

Knock out rose Radrazz

Knock out rose Radrazz

Lily of the Nile

Lily of the Nile

Blossom of a Bangle Tiger

Blossom of a Bangle Tiger

Purple Salvia

Purple Salvia

One last Oakleaf Hydrangea

One last Oakleaf Hydrangea

Monarda and bee butt

Monarda and bee butt

Zinnia

Zinnia

A surprise find - a cosmo the bunnies must have missed

A surprise find - a cosmo the bunnies must have missed

Rose of Sharon 'Double Violet'

Rose of Sharon 'Double Violet'

Shasta Daisy

Shasta Daisy

Buddleja 'Honeycomb'

Buddleja 'Honeycomb'

Cl. Rose Stairway to Heaven

Cl. Rose Stairway to Heaven

By Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

17 Comments »

  1. Les said

    Wow! You have a lot of blooms (and a lot of cukes). Is that Spanish Moss growing behind your first unknown Crape? I tried getting that to grow here, but it turned in to bird nesting material. I’ll try to see what the other Crape is when I get to work. Happy GBBD!

  2. Thanks Les! The Spanish Moss is new this year (brought up from the coast.) Don’t know it it will make it through the winter; but like you, it’s turning out to be bird nesting material. Thanks for checking on the CM for me. H.

  3. Janet said

    A bee butt? hahahahaaa. You funny lady! Love the Double Violet! My Dynomite is the last Crape to open in my yard….all others have begun to pop but not Dynomite! Love the red though!

  4. cherry said

    love the Hydrangea ~ Limelight .. I think I need one or 3 for my yard !
    My Castor bean is just starting to do anything it sat still for so long does yours come back each year ?

    I sure enjoyed my visit this morning .
    hugs, Cherry

  5. Hey Cherry, my Castor bean come back each year as a happy re-seeding annual. I edit throughout the season, which I don’t mind. I have a thing for big lush plants. The Limelights are only 2 years old, but quickly became a favorite.

    H.

  6. Hey y’all,

    I’m heading out for a photo shoot and a day of scouting. I’ll tour GBBD when I return – Can’t wait!!!!!

    H

  7. Tara said

    Hi There! What fabulous flowers!! Just wanted to say that I think what you’ve called the volenteer vinca here is actually a Madagascar periwinkle-have a look here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catharanthus

  8. […] Once again, Helen’s Haven in Raleigh, NC looks around the garden for Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day. Carol at May Dreams Gardens started this as a nod to Elizabeth Lawrence. Here’s my nod to Carol Read more here: July 2009 Garden Blogger's Bloom Day at Helen's Haven « Gardening … […]

  9. Racquel said

    Look at all those cukes! What yummy stuff will you be creating with that fabulous harvest? Your garden borders are glorious this bloom day Helen. In spite of no rain in 3 weeks your garden is full of gorgeous colorful blooms. We have similar stuff blooming here too. 🙂

  10. tina said

    Somebody is going to be busy making lots of pickles I think. Either that or your neighbors will hide when they see you all coming. Astor’s crop is awesome! Your flowers are really beautiful too, as is your entire garden!

  11. Madison said

    What a lovely post!

  12. Randy said

    Beautiful photos Helen! You have a lot going on. I think it’s very possible that your unknown Crepe is ‘Zuni’. We have several of them planted. 🙂

  13. Thank you Randy. Not knowing the name of that CM as bugged me for quite a while. As it happens, Steve Bender with Southern Living was here today to look at and he concurs with your suggestion. So that’s two votes. My friend Les @ A Tidewater Gardener promised me a suggestion today as well. So hopefully I will be three for three. They truly are beautiful! I don’t see them planted. In fact, I don’t recall see another. I get a 100 days of blooms and for me it acts like a big ole perennial flower in my mixed border. I think I need to blog about it. Now, thanks to you (and others) I can tell folks just what it is. Thanks!

    Where are you?

    H.

  14. Yes Janet, everybody needs a little bee butt in their gardens! H.

  15. See, now that is a list! I have no patience for pics and labeling each garden bloom – wish I did!

  16. Wow, what a lot of flowers. It seems you can grow everything from the “north” and from the “south”! Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

  17. Carri said

    Wow Helen- amazing! You have sooo much blooming right now!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

