Archive for June 27, 2009

Dear Cleome,

JuneGBBD 020

Dear Cleome,

Since the day we first met, in what seems like another life ago and certainly another garden ago, I loved you.  I knew one day you would be mine.

Now after more than 10 years of you coming and going, you’re starting to, well, smother me – just a little.  I need a little space and so do some of my  friends.  Just recently, I wanted touch base with Callicarpa dichotoma and she was no where to be found.  The same was true with Crinum ‘Ellen Bosanquet’.  Its one thing with C. dichotoma because she prefers to visit in the fall, but you know Ellen likes to visit with me in the summer.

We had a lot of good times together.  I hope our love affair will continue for many more years.  I’ve so enjoy your friends and they are always welcome here, especially the hummingbirds.  I’m particularly grateful you don’t keep company with any bad animals like the voles, deer, and rabbits.  The fact that you bloom where you’re planted just did it for me. And still does.  Don’t misunderstand me, you will always be apart of my life.  I cannot live without you, but for right now, I just need some space.

Please don’t take this hard.  Just give me some time; by early summer of next year, I will welcome you back with open arms.

Yours, Ty Dee

Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

Comments (14)