Sunday May 31, 2009 A week puttering in Helen’s Haven

First harvested butterfly of the year

First harvested butterfly of the year

With the first butterfly emerging yesterday, I can officially kick of a new gardening year.  It’s always thrilling to see one emerge.

At lunch with GG this week, we found a discarded  outdoor fireplace that would make a perfect chrysalis house.  It was too heavy for me to put in the van or I would have it here now.  The only thing keeping me from reaching for the additional strength needed to make it happen was that it was bent – a little – and I wasn’t sure if I could make it work.  Well, that and the fact that I wasn’t totally convinced it was in the trash.  No answer when I knocked at the door.

  • Signed up for the 2009 Butterfly count.  Haven’t hear back for the coordinator.
  • Moved Heuchera ‘Dolce Black Current’ from one area of the Red Bed to another.
  • Thinned Bee balm, purple Salvia, obedient plant
  • Pulled Artemisia
  • Cut down a volunteer Holly.  Couldn’t believe I let it get so big.
  • Mowed with my neighbors mower…still waiting for our part to repair the wheel.
  • Relocated 2 squirrels.
  • Two loads to the yard waste center.
  • Measured rain from storm.
  • Bummer, it doesn’t look like Colocasia esculenta ‘Rhubarb’ made it through the winter.
  • Scratched poison ivy.

Do doubt there was more, I just can’t remember it all. I have more important things on my mind right now, like three kids getting out of school for the summer on June 3rd.  The excitement should last , oh I don’t know, a week at  least!

Copy and Photos by Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

2 Comments »

  1. kk said

    I long ago eliminated artemesia and obediant plant when I saw how strongly they were asserting themselves in the cottage garden. Still pulling out shoots of artemesia 20-25 feet from its original planting site. I used round-up on the obediant plant, I wasnt going to put up with it. kk

  2. I remember putting the artemesia in with a stern warning from my friend Brooks. I wish I listened to him. I put obediant plant in cuz it was so pretty. This is a good example of a plant that just because it’s a native, doesn’t mean it should be planted. Or if planted, be prepared to pull – often.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

