Spring at Montrose

Montrose 002cA humble brick column with an embossed plaque reading “Montrose 320” is all that tells me I’ve arrived at Montrose.

Even passing through wrought iron gates doesn’t adequately prepare me for what lies beyond; for what I’m about to see.

Montrose is the home and garden of Nancy and Craufurd Goodwin.  Today, the gardens are open.  As a sponsored project of the Garden Conservancy, these gardens’ future are now protected, allowing them to be open “tomorrow” as well.

With an ambitious beginning in the mid 19th century, Governor William Alexander Graham and his wife, Susan Washington Graham, began a complex of gardens.  In 1977 when the Goodwin’s purchased the property, they began nurturing and expanding these gardens.

Montrose 086

Montrose 009

Because of Nancy Goodwin’s tireless efforts, Montrose is now a nationally known destination garden.Montrose 005

My recent visit was a private opening to a few of Nancy’s friends.  “Just a few friends,” says Nancy. A few friends indeed!  The many guests were from the learned gardening community who has visited Montrose many times.  All of us there were admiring the work it took to accomplish what Montrose is today.  The creating of Montrose was no small feat.

You will not be disappointed taking the time to tour Montrose.  Spring is a lovely time to do so.

Guided garden tours are available by appointment on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10:00 AM and Saturdays at either 10:00 AM or 2:00 PM.  For more information or reservations, please call 919.732.7787 between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM.

Montrose

320 St. Mary’s Road

Hillsborough, NC

Montrose 012c

Montrose 028c

Montrose 031c

Montrose 063

Montrose 036c

Montrose 050

Montrose 047

Story and photos by
Helen Yoest
Gardening With Confidence

8 Comments »

  1. What a beautiful garden. I hope to visit it some day.

  2. I’ve always wanted to see Nancy Goodwin’s blue and yellow garden. Thanks for sharing the pix.

  3. kk said

    Helen,
    Im sorry I missed the open house. Montrose is a very cool garden.

  4. Helen: Thanks for posting the link at Twitter. You’ve got my juices flowing for a September visit to Raleigh for the Garden Writers of America soiree. I’ll be sure I have a few hundred memory cards and fully charged batteries for my little Nikon. Hope I can sleep between now and then.

  5. Hey Billy,

    I better back off some…I hope I’m not overselling ;~}

  6. cherry said

    What a beautiful place ! The yellow & blue garden makes me want to run go find more yellows for my beds..
    thanks for sharing
    hugs, Cherry

  7. Mary Ann said

    Lovely, lovely, lovely!
    Thank you for sharing,

    XO,
    MAK

  8. […] we have two Garden Conservancy project gardens:  The Elizabeth Lawrence Garden in Charlotte  and Montrose in  […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

