I Want a New Plant – A quest for my 200th blog posting

I WANT A NEW PLANT

It may not be a big deal for other bloggers who blog daily, but for me, today is a big day. This is my 200th blog posting.

I thought I would post a quest and perhaps get some input. I have a very dear and long term client with the prettiest garden I know, and not just because I care for it. It’s because it is meticulous. Always colorful and well groomed. I like that.

When people say that the gardens in magazines aren’t real, that people don’t really garden like that, they should come see this one.

However, each year I have a problem looking for the perfect performing flower that needs no care – especially deadheading. You see, this client is so meticulous, she even deadheads her impatiens.

We strive each year to find a better performing plant for a certain spot in her front garden each year.  So I want a new plant, one that won’t make me sick, one that won’t make me scratch my car, or cover a path three feet thick. Hmm, this is sounding familiar. Here is what I’m looking for, I want a new plant – to the beat of Huey Lewis And The News song “I Want a New Drug.”

I want a new plant
One that won’t make me sick
One that won’t scratch my car
Or cover a path three feet thick

I want a new plant
One that won’t hurt my beds
One that won’t make my plants too dry
Or make my eyes too red

One that won’t make me nervous
Wondering what to do
One that makes me feel like I feel when I view you
When I’m viewing you

I want a new plant
One that won’t go to seed
One that don’t cost too much
Or one that makes me bleed

I want a new plant
One that won’t go away
One that keeps me up at night
Or one that won’t made me sleep all day

Repeat

One that won’t make me nervous
Wondering what to do
One that makes me feel like I feel when I view you
When I’m viewing you

When I’m viewing you baby

I want a new plant
One that does what it should
One that won’t make me feel too bad
Or one that makes me feel way good

I want a new plant
One with no doubt
One that won’t make me cut too much
Or make my face break out

Repeat

One that won’t make me nervous
Wondering what to do
One that makes me feel like I feel when I view you
When I’m viewing you

When I’m viewing you baby

OK, WOW.  Who knew?  Only a handful of words were changed in this song to take it from being about drugs to being about plants. What does that tell you?

As for my client, I really do need a new plant.  A porch planter, western sun, flowers needed, no deadheading, water available.  It also has to be upright and perky.  In the winter, I put pansies and tulips.  Oh, and yes, she deadheads the pansies!

spring-reaves-0191


14 Comments »

  1. michelle said

    I have a friend who’s garden is just that nice as well. It’s always straight out of a magazine. Love the song.

  2. You gotta love a client that challenges you. Right now, I’m leaning towards Pentas.

  3. […] I Want a New Plant – A quest for my 200th blog posting Gardening … […]

  4. Stephanie Martin said

    I love it! Cute post!

  5. kk said

    Very funny and clever Helen. I can relate. How about silk ? That reminds me, I forgot to hang Easter Eggs in the tree, damn! kk

  6. Thanks, kk. I’m impressed plastic didn’t come to mind before silk…or did it?

    Never too late to hang Easter Eggs. To be political correct you can call them springtime plastic eggs. H.

  7. Lantana may be too mounding/trailing. Agastache ‘Purple Pygmy’ or another short agastache will bloom all summer and into frost. Salvia greggii ‘Diane’ or ‘Texas Wedding’ are short. They can take the heat.

    Cameron

    PS Congrats on your 200th anniversary! HA! I “had” to say that!

  8. Hey Cameron,

    Nice choices for OUR gardens, I’ll take them all!

    Here are more criteria:

    Mounding is out – too, well, moundy
    Trailing is out – not perky enough
    Can’t be too tall or too short. 11 – 17 inches would be ideal
    Can’t be to “earthy” looking such as agastache
    Can’t get leggy or like to lean towards the sun like Salvia does

    kk called to suggest begonia and she DOES love them. We use them in other areas of the garden. But this area is in a raised bed with Germander as an edger. FYI, the Germander is sheared to an inch of its life 2 – 3 times a year.

    I’m still leaning towards the Penta. Any good reasons out there not to go with them? I e-mailed my client with this suggestion, but have not heard back.

    H.

  9. I want a new plant
    One that don’t make me drink
    One that don’t make me beat my wife
    One that don’t make my feet stink.

  10. Good luck Grumpy from keeping your feet from stinking!

  11. nell jean said

    Pentas want deadheading.

    Melampodium.

  12. Thanks Nell Jean, Melampodium looks VERY promising.

  13. if she were in England, i’d use Geranium Rozanne, – hardy geranium that will take sun, or some shade, has purple blue flowers all through summer, a mounding habit, and then you cut it back in Autumn so the tulips and pansies can take over. – Do you have it in NC, what zone are you?

  14. Having a new plant in the garden is always a beautiful thing. When choosing your plant figure out if its going to help bring out the center plant of the garden or is it just going to be a companion on the side.

    Miniature roses are perfect little plants that can be used as a border plant. If you would like a nice rose bush that does not need tons of care and is disease resistant the Knockout Rose is the perfect choice.

    Learn more about both here http://roselanding.com/start-growing-miniature-roses and/or http://roselanding.com/caring-for-knockout-rose-tips

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

