Sunday April 5, 2009 Puttering in Helen’s Haven

No question spring has arrived.  With her came pine pollen, lots of pollen.  There is a yellow everywhere.    I always play this little game of predicting when the pollen arrives and when it leaves.  Some years are worse than others.  It really all depends on the rain; the pollen is still there of course,  but a nice spring rain washes it away, if only for a moment.   In 2007 it was solid pollen for 6 weeks as we hoped and prayed for rain.

Tulips in a client's garden

Tulips in a client's garden

I puttered some in Helen’s Haven, but it was more fun just to take photos of pretty flowers, particularly in the Herb Garden a.k.a. herb/host/rock garden.

Helen's Haven Herb Garden early spring

Helen's Haven Herb Garden early spring

The Herb Garden is the first to come alive in the spring, lasting for about 2 months.  Spring brings Narcisis, species tulips, ajuga, iris.   The rest of the year gives way to harvesting basil, thyme, rosemary, chives, oregano, fennel, parsley, and more.  In the fall, the color returns with a selection of Salvias.

Narcissus were a give from kk.

These Narcisis were a gift from kk.

Species tuplips early morningSpecies tulips, also a gift from kk, in tight early morning bud
Species tulips as the morning starts to shine on them

Species tulips as the morning starts to shine on them

Species tulips with afternoon sun

Species tulips with afternoon sun

This one's a prize - Daphne cneorum 'Ruby Glow' Rock Daphne

This one's a prize - Daphne cneorum 'Ruby Glow' Rock Daphne

Chocolate Chip

Chocolate Chip

Narcisis 'Curly Lacy' from Brent and Becky's

Narcissus 'Curly Lacy' from Brent and Becky's

april-4-2009-038

I still managed to have this little bit of fun:

  • This harsh winter took the life of  a Confederate Jasmine on the gazebo.  I replaced it with 2 more.
  • Mowed.
  • Thought about weeding the Herb Garden.  Decided to take  photos instead.
  • While not weeding the Herb Garden, I saw I needed to thin out Tansy.  Tansy anyone?
  • Filled the bird feeders and added fresh water to the bird baths.  Took the above photo before I filled it.
  • Listened to the fountain run.
  • Planted Hens and Chicks in the Sedum container pot.
  • Tried to figure out where to plant Loropetalum ‘Purple Pixie’.  It looks like I lost the prostrate rosemary in the Red Bed; its too soon to tell.  It’s not unlikely for this rosemary to be hit by our typical winters,  but this past winter will be the test of it zone.   If it did, I may plant this new gem here instead of replacing it.
  • Sneezed!  Lots of pollen.
  • kk, do you remember the name of the species Tulip?  I looked in Scott Kunst’s  Old House Gardens but didn’t see it.  Do you have it Scott?
  • By the way, Scott, I got my Dahlias.  I will plant as soon as we are free of the last frost.   April 15th is our 90% last frost free date.  We always have a frost around that time.   Next week will be close.  Right now, predicting 34.  I guess its Nature’s  last hurrah until fall.

Post script:  Photo taken on Monday morning.

Yellow river of pine pollen flows after a morning shower

Yellow river of pine pollen flows after a morning shower

5 Comments »

  1. TC said

    Being a month behind, things are still rather drab here. Although a few daffs are open, pollen?

  2. Hey TC, I added another photo just for you. It’s pine pollen. We are, after all, the pine state!

  3. TC said

    I wonder if pine pollen water is acidic? If so, it’d be good for my blue hydrangeas. And thanks for adding the photo of the “Yellow river” just for me, I feel honored. ;~)

  4. kk said

    Helen,
    My records show that the species tulip is T. clusiana var.chrysantha. they look great in your garden! I can also recommend another great performer and good naturalizer, T. bakerii Lilac Wonder. kk.

  5. Thanks kk, I knew you would know. If you recommend the T. bakerii Lilac Wonder, then I let you get me some;~} What’s the kk daff again? I promise, I’ll write it down this time.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

