March 2009 Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – Helen’s Haven

It is cold and rainy in Raleigh, NC today. But we do have blooms!

Once again, we look around the garden for Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day.   Carol at May Dreams Gardens started this as a nod to Elizabeth Lawrence.  Here’s my nod to Carol.  Enjoy!

Patio Peach

Patio Peach

Ornamental Plum

Ornamental Plum

Peris Valley Valentine

Peris Valley Valentine

march-14-2009-027

More hellebores

More hellebores

Winter Honeysuckle

Winter Honeysuckle

Camellia - one of many

Camellia - one of many

Candytuff

Candytuff

Redbud from afar

Redbud from afar

Redbud

Redbud

Pansies

Pansies

Edgeworthia

Edgeworthia

Southern Belle double hellebore

Southern Belle double hellebore

Snow Fountain Cherry

Snow Fountain Cherry

New Double hellebore

New Double hellebore

Vinca minor

Vinca minor

Winter Daphne

Winter Daphne

Forsythia in traffic stopping full bloom

Forsythia in traffic stopping full bloom

A quince in its 2nd year

A quince in its 2nd year

Daffs abound

Daffs abound

march-14-2009-006

Crocus still coming

Crocus still coming

Veronical Georgina

Veronical Georgina

33 Comments »

  1. Tatyana said

    A lot of blooms in your garden! I don’t have any double hellebores and your pictures made me want to have them in my garden. Thanks!

  2. Gail said

    helen, Hello! Love the double hellebore! Wow to the dapne…I brought one home but it languished indoors waiting to be planted out…I was enjoying the fragrance. Now it is happy with all the rain but still needs a permanent home. Happy Bloom Day…maybe the sun will shine this week in the southeast! gail

  3. Thanks Tatyana and Gail. Yes, Gail, I miss the sun. But I’m glad to have bloom day on a day like this so I can go visit all the others. Making my way down Carols list, coming to you soon;=)

  4. Sweet Bay said

    Lovely rainy day pictures Helen! You’re not far from me at all. I’m one county over, in Johnston County.

    You have a wonderful collection of plants blooming this time of year.

  5. tina said

    Simply LOVE that edgeworthia! So much color in your garden. It is lovely!

  6. Jenny said

    I suspect from what I see that you have acid soil where you live. I keep seeing hellebores and wonder could we do that here. Probably not and Mrs Johnson would rather we keep our regional identity so I’d better not.

  7. Sweet Bay – Howdy neighbor! Be sure to mark your calendar for the Garden Conservancy Open Days tour, also benefiting the JC Raulston Arboretum Sept 19 and 29th.

  8. Hey Tina,

    I’m with you, the Edgeworthia are wonderful. Thanks for visiting on this rainy Sunday.

  9. Yes Jenny, we are very acidic. Its what it is. Bad for those who want pink hydrangea…I tell my clients to just go with nature on this one, otherwise, you will have to fight it forever.

  10. mothernaturesgarden said

    Helen,
    I would love the daphne and edgeworthia for fragrance in the garden. Since my garden is borderline zone 6/7, maybe it would work in a sheltered position.
    Donna

  11. Very jealous of the hellebores! Also the edgeworthia. And the daphne. Ok, your whole garden! I am loving bloom day! I am making a point to participate from now on!

  12. What a lovely collection of blooms for GBBD

  13. linda said

    lots of beautiful blooms in your garden Helen! They’re all beautiful. So much green there – how refreshing!

  14. Jen said

    Thanks for popping into my backyard! I hope you’ll forgive me for not having any flowers to show — next time, I promise! Your hellebores look so happy – all your plants do. Love the color of that quince!

  15. All lovely, especially the red camellia. Thanks for showing us your garden.

  16. People don’s seem to do forsythias much here in these parts (San Diego). It’s a pity–yours is gorgeous.

  17. Kathy said

    I’m OOhing and Ahhing over your quince, edgeworthia, and duble-hellebores — all are on my shopping list. My flowering plum is all budded up and I expect blooms by April 1. Same rainy gray day here *sigh*.

  18. Yes Donna, Daphne and Edgeworthia are two of my faves too.

    Thanks Katie, I hope there is still lots for you to see when it is open for the Garden Conservancy’s Open Days tour in September.

  19. Linda, Jen and Chaiselounge – thanks for visiting.

    Lostlandscape – Forsythia is one of those plants that not everyone loves. I don’t get it.

  20. Jen – when I think of the color quince – its this quince!

  21. Kathy, our area plums open the first of March. This one is a new one – put in this past fall. I inherited one when we moved here 11 years ago and lost it 3 years ago. I HAD to replace it. Couldn’t imagine late winter without it.

  22. Hi Helen,

    You have a lot blooming right now. Very beautiful. Happy Bloom Day.~~Dee

  23. Catherine said

    It’s gorgeous there! You have so much in bloom! I wish my winter daphne looked as pretty as yours does. It must smell wonderful in your garden.

  24. Renate said

    That really looks like spring! Lovely.

  25. Oh I love the leaves of your Winter Daphne! Anything variegated would be great to have in my yard, especially during winter. Looks like your well on your way to spring!

  26. Darla said

    It looks good, love the rain on the leaves.

  27. Some glorious March blooms there Helen. I have really enjoyed your post. I liked your description of the forsythia as ‘traffic stopping’. We have some outside the gates of our allotment. When I visited there yesterday I felt the need for sunglasses :)

  28. Debbie said

    Helen,

    What a wonderful selection of blooms you have in garden, I’m truly jealous. I love the double helebore, it’s looks so dainty but I’m sure it’s a workhouse like all the other hellebores.

  29. kanak said

    Beautiful set of blooms! I love the hellebores. I didn’t even know that Daphne was the name of a flower!!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog…loved reading your comment!

  30. Les said

    I see your garden has gotten as wet as mine. I hope some of it will be around this summer.

  31. Sue said

    Hi! I came here because you were one of the 2 after mine, and Carol asked us to visit the posts of the 2 before and after us to be sure everyone gets comments. I see you already got lots of those. LOL I am glad I made it here, because I am in zone 5b, and don’t have many blooms yet. Yours are awesome! I love those hellebores!

  32. I see you are in mid-spring while we are still in pre-spring, but the green fuse has been lit at last, even for us.

    Cheers, Yvonne

  33. Hey Sue,

    I actually try to visit them all – at least those posted the day of GBBD. I like seeing where everyone is in their season and all that they have. It is the only post a month I do as a “watercooler” post. The rest of the time during the month, I stop by and visit blogs, but I don’t stay for tea.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

