Winter Interest Plants at the JC Raulston Arboretum

This sent to me from the JC Raulston Arboretum.  Even in winter our diverse plantings reward observant visitors with colorful surprises.  Here is some of what is in bloom now.

Lath House
Camellia ‘Cinnamon Cindy’ – Ackerman hybrid camellia
Camellia ×williamsii ‘Mary Christian’ – Williamsii camellia

Mixed Border
Cupressus arizonica ‘Limelight’ – yellow Arizona cypress
Hamamelis ×intermedia ‘Sunburst’ – common witchhazel
Pinus wallichiana ‘Zebrina’ – variegated Himalayan pine

Scree Garden
Iris reticulata cultivars – netted iris
Narcissus (dwarf species and cultivars)
Prunus mume ‘Omoi-no-mama’ – Japanese flowering apricot

Visitor and McSwain Education Center Gardens
Betula nigra ‘Summer Cascade’ – weeping river birch – C07
Edgeworthia chrysantha ‘Winter Gold’ – golden paperbush – C07
Picea pungens ‘Hoopsii’ – Colorado blue spruce – Su7
Salix ‘Flame’ – red-stem willow – Su7
Symphoricarpos ×doorenbosii ‘Pink Magic’ – Doorenbos coralberry – V06

Winter Garden
Cornus sanguinea ‘Midwinter Fire’ – bloodtwig dogwood
Corylus avellana ‘Contorta’ – Harry Lauder’s walking stick
Daphne odora – winter daphne
Helleborus ×hybridus and cultivars – Lenten rose
Ilex cornuta ‘Sunrise’ – golden Chinese holly
Poncirus trifoliata ‘Flying Dragon’ – contorted hardy orange
Pinus virginiana ‘Wate’s Golden’ – wintergold Virginia pine

Other Areas of the Arboretum
Acer palmatum ‘Beni kawa’ and ‘Sango kaku’ – coral-bark Japanese maple – E00, J01, and E20
Chimonanthus praecox – fragrant wintersweet – E15
Cornus mas ‘Spring Glow’ – Cornelian cherry – E16
Narcissus species and cultivars

2 Comments »

  1. Les said

    I hate winter nearly as much as I love winter blooming plants, winter gardens and any plant with winter interest. Maybe I don’t love them so much as I need them. If I had to live anywhere more northerly than I already am, I would probably have to drink more. Your list has several of my favorite plants regardless of the season.

  2. I’m with ya Les. I garden in the winter so I can get through it. Now that I’m out of January, I’m good. Longer days do wonders for me.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

