In Print – Nature’s Garden 2009 Spring Issue

I’ve made no secret that Nature’s Garden is one of my favorite magazines.  Being a nature girl and all, would you expect less?

Last summer, I produced a story for James Baggett, then editor of Nature’s Garden (now editor of Country Gardens – yea, James, another of my favorite magazines), called Tweet Treats.

My three kids were the muse for this story; they too are a natural working in nature.

Jane McKeon, now editor of Nature’s Garden, stepped into some big shoes left vacant by James, but I’m here to tell you, Jane has it going on!  Jane is Mother Nature’s girl, a kindred spirit of mine, bringing us great tales of nature  to be explored – as close as our own back yards.

For this story, Virginia Weiler was the photographer which is why the photo you see below compared to the one you will see in the magazine with get you saying, “GET OUTTA HERE.”  Couple Virginia’s talents with Nature’s Garden design director, Jarret Jon Einck, and what you see is art nestled on a page, to comfort the reader, in the special ways we wait to read for a moment of escape.

For me this month, that special moment had me curled up on my couch, with a throw over my legs, and a hot  cup of cocoa.  First I sigh at knowing I’ve just carved out a moment just for me.  I then opened the pages, and start my read, first (always first) I read the editor’s note, then slowly begin my journey.  I cherish these moments.

In my mind, magazines make magic moments.

james-baggett-photo-shoots-093

On the newsstands now; pick up a copy and take a peak.  I hope it will inspire you to make Tweet Treats with your kids or grand kids.  Oh, and there are lots of other great inspiring stories.

3 Comments »

  1. […] Jane McKeon, now editor of Nature’s Garden , stepped into some big shoes left vacant by James, but I’m here to tell you, Jane has it going on! Jane is Mother Nature’s girl, a kindred spirit of mine, bringing us great … See the rest here: In Print – Nature’s Garden 2009 Spring Issue « Gardening With … […]

  2. Hi Helen, so very interesting to see the set up with the photographer on her shoot!

    Frances

  3. Hey Frances, thanks for stopping by. It is even more amazing when you see the actual shot in Nature’s Garden. It is wonderful and inspiring.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

