Is this grass really greener?

january-21-2009-snow-day-064

I first saw this grass after a nice lunch with my friend Beth.  I meant to call her afterwards to get her take, assuming she saw it, as well.

When I first saw this grass, I thought it was astro-turf.  Astro-turf has come a long way and there is a nice  patch of it at North Hills Mall, in Raleigh’s mid-town. At the Mall, the piece of astro-truf looked so real, I had to go touch it to see if it was.  This bit of green  grass  looked so much like astro-turf, I had to go touch it to see if  it was.

january-21-2009-snow-day-062Since I forgot my camera, I had to time to give this some thought while I when home to fetch it.  It intrigued me.  Grass that was painted.  My first thought was that is was a very George Jenson-y kind of thing – sorta like astro-turf.  But then again, geez, we’re painting everything else.  Red mulch, brown mulch, black, mulch, why not green grass?  At least that has a better ring to it than red mulch.

january-21-2009-snow-day-061As I looked  around taking photos, I realized it was just this area around the restaurant, not the whole shopping center.  The restaurant is situated on a major section of the shopping center.

Then I saw the sign, Yard Green of Raleigh.  I went to their website http://www.YardGreenOfRaleigh.com to get more info.  What I really wanted to know was:  what is in the paint.  But, when I got to the site, it was new and it just stated, more info coming.  Hmmm, the restaurant must have been the guinea pig, a good showing of a popular place on a prominent corner.

The web- site did have a nice before photo of a house and lawn with yellow grass  along with an after photo with the same house and lawn colored with green grass.

january-21-2009-snow-day-060I was curious about the process and the market, so I called Yard Green of Raleigh.  I had a nice chat with  Patrick Besanson and found out he has the Central North Carolina distributorship.  One question led to another.

Here is what I found out:

  • Yard Green of Raleigh is a distributorship, based out of South Carolina.
  • It can be used on any grass, but most likely will be used for summer grasses such as the Zosia shown here.
  • It is not a paint, but rather a dye.  Patented after 5 years of Research and Development.
  • Approved to be environmentally safe by the USDA.
  • Slowly breaks down by UV rays over a 90 day period
  • Will dry in 10 minutes on a warm sunny day; may take a whole day on a cold cloudy day
  • Cost is $0.10 per square foot with a minimum of $350.00.
  • Realtors are his biggest clients mostly to  move homes faster followed by happy homeowners staying put.
  • Could be used on dormant fescue in the summer when it is brown.

So there you are!

Here are some more photos:

Every blade coated

Every blade coated

Grass meets mulch

Grass meets mulch

Grass meets rock

Grass meets rock

A restruarnt I recommend often

A restaurant I recommend often

12 Comments »

  1. Stuart said

    Interesting concept, isn’t it? It would certainly make sense if you’re lawn is dying or lacking wter but at $350 minimum, I could almost replace my lawn with roll-on for that!

  2. I think it’s clever and with this hard market for home sales it will be popular.

  3. Les said

    The only way I would like to see more of this is if it would lead to more people planting warm season grasses and abandoning fertilizer and water intensive fescue. Otherwise I find it dubious.

  4. Yes, Les I agree and it does. Sadly, their marketing doesn’t address this. And as I think about it, that’s this dye’s best defense. Too many people (not me) and home owner associations that don’t like grass that turns yellow in the winter. This could be the cure. The end result is a greener grass, pun intended.

    The slower growing warm season grasses lessons our footprint requiring less mowing, MUCH less fertilizers and minimal water. I haven’t done the math, but quickly I can add up that the cost savings would at least be off-set by the savings in fescue maintenance.

    I think it might be easier to get the public to accept this quicker than letting fescue go dormant in the summer, which is my practice. I actually like it.

  5. We eat at Winston’s when we take my husband’s mom out to lunch. He was just there on Thursday, but didn’t notice the painted grass.

    I have to think about this one.

    Cameron

  6. Maybe Cameron, this speaks well for it. I was dyed the first part of December.

  7. Very interesting observations here. Originally, the grass over at the commons at North Hills was real, but since so many kids like to play there, they converted to astro turf, since the real grass would have gotten trampled and look bad.

  8. He was back at Winston’s today, but it was raining. He says he still didn’t notice the grass.

  9. I want to eat at Winston’s, go see coops, and be at the garden talk on the 21st of February. I’m working on the 21st. Just might have it worked out if they didn’t sell out.

    Cameron went to Lexington BBQ without us.

    Helen, you rock! That is the grandest thing that you take care of the butterfly house at JC Raulston ! I saw the Monarch special tonight and taped it.

    Thank you tons about what you said to Robin at her examiner site. Big hugs back to ya for that.

  10. […] Today’s post is about one aspect of what I saw there; a perfect a follow-up of Tuesday’s post  Is this grass really greener? […]

  11. ilona said

    I just discovered something I hate: I hate painted grass.

  12. Yes, Ilona, I feel your passion. Please have a look at my post on the 27th. The straw color of a warm-season grass in the middle if winter is very pretty.

    I believe our problem, locally, is that we can (sorta) grow both and it is a battle between a winter green or straw.

    I remember several years ago, coaching a client through her grass choices. She just looked at me, tilted her head and said,”What on earth are you suggesting, my grass not be green?”

    At least with painted grass, better environmental choices can be made, i.e., warm-seasoned grasses and they can then be painted to meet the approval of the “Winter Green Grass Police.”

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

