A garden mission statement or Garden Conservancy’s Open Days Tour copy – both, actually!

My friends Jayme Bednarczyk and her husband Phil Abbot will open their garden for the Garden Conservancy’s Open Days tour, also benefiting the JC Raulston Arboretum, September 19 & 20, 2009.

Ever having several pokers in the fire, I was working on the press releases for the 2009 Raleigh area Garden Conservancy tour while collecting garden missions statements from around the world.   Part of the process of being accepted for the Garden Conservancy tour, an application is filled out.  Included in the application is a short write-up about the garden.  This write-up is what appears in the National Garden Conservancy publication.

Typically, the write-ups are concise, informative, and practical.  When I read Phil and Jayme’s I couldn’t remember what I was working on – was I looking at Garden Conservancy copy or did Jayme send me a mission statement?  What I found was their Garden Conservancy write-up could be both.

I immediately contacted Jayme to see if they would let me use their Garden Conservancy write-up in my collection of mission statement. They agreed.

Jayme and Phil’s mission statement is the exception with regards to the prose.  Everyone’s I have received, has been heartfelt and passionate.  Anyone who cares for their piece of earth qualifies – an acre or a window box, it’s the care that counts.

If you are so inclined, please send me your mission statement. I will post on Valentines Day – for the love of your garden.

entwinedv2-1

6 Comments »

  1. tina said

    It’s beautiful.

  2. Well goodness. Gardeners and poets too! Very nice.

    Robin Wedewer

  3. Oh Helen–their statement is so beautiful. I love the way it is presented. I want mine to look that way. It is so classy.

    I came over here looking for something you said about Zinnias and saw this beautifully written statement. I look forward to seeing mine on your Valentine’s Day post. I can’t wait.

    I located all the tags for the plants in the garden so far. I started recording them. Thanks for the nudge.

    I have to find that Zinnia information. It was about how you sowed them early and let your mulch keep them protected. Someone is asking me about it and your directions were better.

  4. […] My friends Jayme Bednarczyk and her husband Phil Abbot will open their garden for the Garden Conservancy’s Open Days tour, also benefiting the JC Raulston Arboretum, September 19 & 20, 2009. Read the original post: A garden mission statement or Garden Conservancy’s Open Days Tour … […]

  5. Y’all, wait until you see this garden on the Garden Conservancy’s Open days tour, also benefiting the JCRA.

  6. Can’t wait!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

