Helen’s Haven Red Bed – Plant List and Concept

The Red Bed from the south side

The Red Bed from the south side

I’m back talking about the Red Bed.  This bed, in Helen’s Haven, intrigues me the most.   Since I last listed the plants included here, I added a barrier row of a variety of shrubs to provide privacy on my south side.

I needed privacy from my neighbor and my neighbor needed privacy from me.  She’s not too keen on my gardening style, she being a lover of grass, and I, being a lover of plants, we just don’t see eye to eye.

The Red Bed from the north side

The Red Bed from the north side

The Red Bed intrigues me so much, I guess, because of what it is made up of – anything with red – berries, fruits, foliage, fall color, stems, flowers, or  pods.  There is also a slash of yellow, purple  and orange.

I’m happy to report that since I have updated the Red Bed plant list, I can now focus on other beds.  If you saw yesterdays post, you will know my next emphasis is on the Mixed Border.

So here’s the list, look for more info on the Mixed Border.

The Red Bed
Botanical Name Common Name
Abellia grandiflora Abellia ‘Little Richard’
Acanthus Summer Beauty
Acer palmatum Japanese Maple ‘Bloodgood’
Achillea millefolium Angeique
Adonis Blue Butterfly Bush
Aquitegia Columbine ‘Winky Blue & White’
Asclepias tuberosa Milkweed
Berberis thunbergii Barberry ‘Crimson Pygmy’
Buddleia davidii Butterfly Bush ‘White Ball’
Buxus Wintergreen
Buxus sempervirens Elegantissima’ Variegated box
Callstem rigida Bottle Bush
Camellia sasanqua Camellia ‘Sestugekka’
Cedrus deodara Feeling Blue’
Cephalotaxus harringtonia Yews
Colocasia esculenta Elephant’s Ear ‘Rhubarb’
Cornus florida Native Dogwood
Cortaderia selloana Dwarf Pampas Grass ‘Pumila’ (Ivory Feathers)
Crinum Crinums ‘Sangria’
Crinum erubescens Swamp Lily
Cryptomeria japanica Elegans’
Cryptomeria japonica Black Dragon
Edgeworthia chrysanthes Edgeworthia ‘Gold Rush’
Eupatorium purpureum Dwarf Joe Pye Weed ‘Little Joe’
Forsythia Forsythia
Hedera helix Ivy ‘Eva’
Helleborus x hybridus Red Lady’
Heremocalis Day Lily ‘Buttered Pop Corn’
Heremocalis Stella de ‘Ore
Heuchera hybrid Heuchera Dolce Black Current
Heuchera hybrid Heuchera Southern Comfort
Hydrangea macrophylla Lady in Red Hydrangea ‘Lady in Red’
Ilex vomitoria Pendula’ Weeping Youpon Holly
Iris germanica Iris – pale blue
Iris germanica Vita Fire
Juniperus commonunis Gold Totem Pole’
Loropetalum Pizazz
Loropetalum Ever Red Sunset
Lycorius radiata Surprise Lily ‘Surprise Lily’
Lysimachia congestiflora Variegated Siberian Iris ‘Persian Chocolate’
Magnolia Grandaflora Magnolia
Osmanthus heterophyllus Variegata Holly Osmanthus
Pieris Valley Valentine
Pieris japonica Ground cover from VA trip
Pinus mugo Mugo Pine
Pinus strobus Yellow White Pine ‘Hillside Winter Gold’
Pinus sylevstris Scotch Pine ‘Hillside Creeper Scotch’
Pinus sylevstris Hindu Pan
Pinus thunbergiana Black Pine
Quince Quince
Rhododenron Mrs. G.G. Gerbing
Ricinus communis Red castor bean
Rosemarinus officinalis Prostratus Weeping Rosemary
Rubus pendalobus Creeping Raspberry
Rubus rolfel Creeping Rasberry
Rudbeckia mazima Black-eyed Susans
Sedum purium Sedum ‘John Creech’
Sedum repestre Sedum ‘Angelina Stonecrop’
Senna Senna
Stachys byzantina Lamb’s Ear ‘Helen Von Stein’
Styrax japonica Japanese snowbell
Taxodium distichum Weeping Bald Cypress ‘Cascade Falls’
Thymjus serpyllum Creeping Thume
Thymus ceiroiodorus Lime Thyme
Tulbaghia violacea Society Garlic
Ulmus alata Winged Elm
Verbena bonarienis Brazilian Verbena
Yuccca gloriaso Varigatea
Zephyranthes White Rain Lilies
6 Comments »

  1. The mulch looks awesome and yummy–yes, yummy. Seems like the Red Bed is saying thank you very much. I’ll have to look up the dwarf Joe Pye Weed. I love that plant but have been afraid to plant it. We had it at the nursery I worked for and it was extremely invasive. It was planted in a border that it took over. But it was grand when it bloomed.

  2. I agree, so I think you will like the dwarf. All the benefits of the species without being invasive and smaller. Oh, and yes, not only did the mulch make the Red Bed happy, but me happy, as well.

  3. tina said

    There is simply no explaining some neighbors, I TOTALLY sympathize with you-privacy is important. How could she not like a garden within view of her with such wonderful plants? It is gorgeous, even in the winter. I’ll look forward to the mixed border planting info too.

  4. It’s the ole grass versus plants debate. Or perhaps, it’s LANDSCAPE versus GARDENS. I like grass as a foil for my gardens; my neighbor likes Liriope as a foil to her fescue;-}

  5. Les said

    What, no “red” mulch for the red bed?

    One of my former landscape design professors always talked about putting lots of burgundy-red foliage/flowers in the garden mixed with gold and chartreuse. He would recommend this for every job. At the time I thought I could not think of a worse combination of colors. Now 15 years later what does my yard have, lots of red and gold foliage and flowers.

    As for your neighbors, I wish more of mine would be passionate about anything in their yard, even if it was just to grow a boring patch of grass.

  6. Now that was funny! I’m so glad that was said in jest so I don’t have to hurt your feelings – NO RED Mulch in my Red Bed!

    With regards to my neighbors, you are to right Les, I often think at least she has great grass, it could be worse!
    Helen

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

