Thursday November 6, 2008 Helen’s Haven, Red Bed, Cortaderia selloana ‘Pumila’ Dwarf Pampas Grass

Cortaderia selloana Dwarf Pampas Grass 'Pumila'

Cortaderia selloana Dwarf Pampas Grass 'Pumula'

Boy, did I catch grief leaving the JC Raulston Arboretum Gala in the Garden 2006 with Cortaderia selloana dwarf Pampas Grass ‘Pumula.”   A friend who shall remain nameless said, “With all the great plants to bid on, you go home with a Pampas Grass.”  The truth is, this was the only plant where  I was the highest bidder.  I bid on many others, and let me tell you, the selection was huge.  I was happy to have won the bid.  I really like this grass…not too big, not too small, with just the right amount of plume.

It holds court in the center of my Red Bed.  The moisture in this bed keeps her happy. 

Standing on 6 foot tall to the tip of her plume, she is small in comparison to the species which can get up to 12 feet.    Also, her leaves are very narrow and not as razor sharp.

Pumula with Virginia Gibbons Garden Art

'Pumula' with Virginia Gibbons Garden Art

Later in the year, there will be dieback which is a nice blond color, not at all ratty looking.  When the new growth starts to emerge, I cut it back to the base.  Last year, I cut it back in late February.    By April it was already up 2 feet. 

Looking good for 9 or 10 months makes it a winner in my book.  I already look forward to attending the next Gala in the Garden at the JCRA to bring home another winner.

2 Comments »

  1. tina said

    I would be happy with this grass too. It was a plant recommended in my plant class in college. I don’t have enough sun for it though.

  2. I’m lucky in that I have every kind of sun, part sun, part shade and shade conditions. What I don’t have is room for all the plants I would like to have for each condition. I think this is why I end up editing so often. But I think this grass will be with me for a while.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

