Monday October 27, 2008 SEED WALK with Brandon Duncan

Brandon Duncan with Black Pearl Ornamental Pepper

Brandon Duncan with Black Pearl Ornamental Pepper

On Saturday, I shared a wonderful experience with other garden enthusiasts.  We were enchanted by Brandon Duncan’s love for the garden he tends for Jean and Lawrence Shuping in Raleigh, NC.

Brandon sowed the idea of the SEED WALK when so many visitors from the Garden Conservancy’s Open Days tour, also benefiting the JCRA asked about so many of the plants.  Brandon found himself saying, “This one produces lots of seeds in the fall.”  Soon, he was formulating the idea of a SEED WALK.  True to his word, we reaped the rewards on Saturday.

About halfway through our SEED WALK, Brandon started pointing out various plants for winter interest.  We begged him to consider doing a similar walk highlighting these plants for the winter, a WINTER WALK.

Brandon demonstrating how he purnes the Boulevard Cypress

Brandon demonstrating how he purnes the Boulevard Cypress

Maybe I can convince Brandon to make it a two part tour, so I can open my garden in the winter as well.  A long admirer, promoter and grower of winter interest plants, I love to share my garden in the winter.   Look for my December column in Metro magazine where I profile Tommy and Linda Bunn’s garden in the winter.  I have long wanted to organize a winter garden tour.  The JC Raulston Arboretum has a Friends lecture, tour, and plant sale each February.  I think it’s the highest attended lecture of the year.  I get rather involved because I lead the maintenance team of the JCRA Winter Garden with the Raleigh Garden Club.

We all took home bags of goodies.  We would open our little bags and Brandon would fill with seeds and pods – it felt like Holloween.

Helen Yoest with Amaranthus 'Dreadlocks'

Helen Yoest with Amaranthus 'Dreadlocks'

Brandon was charming and full of energy.  He’s always that way.  To quote Steve Bender, senior writer for Southern Living Magazine, whom I had the pleasure of sharing this garden with, “I wish I had as much energy as Brandon Duncan.”  Indeed, don’t we all.  Thanks Brandon!

Some seeds Brandon dried in advance of the event

Some seeds Brandon dried in advance of the event

dOur group as we listen to what Brandon has to share
Our group as we listened to what Brandon had to share
Leave a Reply

