Friday October 24, 2008 Butterfly Bushes in Helen’s Haven

As a butterfly gardener, Buddleia sp. are abundant in my garden.  Like most gardeners, all I want to do is have some fun.  So, I started collecting various butterfly bushes.  I have the space and my garden is dedicated to attracting the three B’s…birds, bees, and butterflies, so I thought it would fun and a good fit to have a variety of butterfly bushes.  This is easy to do, there are many colors, sizes and shapes to choose from.  I don’t have them all – no way – and I was surprised after looking at my list that I don’t have some of the obvious ones, such as Black Knight.

As I was uploading these photos, I started wondering what happen to my deadheading gene.  There will be no apology for how the plants look.  I’m just chalking it up to the end of season – saving myself – storing up enough energy – to get those bulbs sunk.

As I was touring around the garden, I was shocked to realize I have another Hemselyana.  I still agree with

Hemselyanaeverything I wrote about this plant in an earlier post, but I think I will keep this one here.  It is in a better location.

It’s interesting to tour the garden with one genus in mind.  I knew I had a few, but really lost count over the years and was surprised I had as many as I did.

Adonis Blue

Adonis Blue

Adonis Blue is looking a bit puny.  This is the last flower for the year.  The rest of the bush looks bad too.  I moved it in August.

White Ball

White Ball

I really like White Ball.  It is in my front garden that I call the Red Bed or Burgandy Bed…this is one of the exceptions to the color rule.  It has a great, neat ball shape with white flowers.  Always full, but does benefit from deadheading.

Hemselyana

Hemselyana

Honeycomb

Honeycomb

Honeycomb

Honeycomb

Honeycomb Buddleia x weyeriana.

The yellow color is nice.

Ellen's Blue

Ellen's Blue

BiColor

BiColor

Nanho Blue

Nanho Blue

This beauty, below, is in my mixed border a.k.a. Main Butterfly Garden.  I don’t know who she is, but I like having her around.

Below is the Harlequin variegated selection of ‘Royal Red’ .  I like it, but it easily reverts.  When that happens, I just cut it out.

Blue Chip is my favorite.  There are a lot of reasons I love this plant.  One trip to the JC Raulston Arboretum where they are abundant and you will be adding one or more to your garden, as well.  Buddleia are not invasive in Raleigh.  Not necessarily so in other areas of North Carolina.  As such, many will be happy to know that Blue Chip is a very, very low seed setter.  It’s also little.   It looks great planted enmasse.  I’m usually all over mass plantings, but this one sits alone in my garden.  Why? because I’m still feeling giddy that it was a gift  to me before it was introduced to the trade from the hybridizer, Dr. Dennis (Denny) Werner, Director of the JCRA, a man I admire greatly, and one I call friend.

Leave a Reply

