Tuesday October 21, 2008 Chrysanthemum x rubellum ‘Clara Curtis’

Chrysanthemum x rubellum ‘Clara Curtis’

'Sheffield Pink'

Mums signal fall.  I like all kinds, even the compostable ones I pick up for pots at the Farmers Market.  I grow a couple in my garden, but my best performer is new this year.  This spring, a friend gave me Chrysantumum x rubellum ‘Clara Curtis.’ I put her next to the fig.  I was looking for just one more fig from the season when I looked down and this photo reveals what I found.  I almost forgot about them.  This of course is an endorsement for her low maintenance.  I’m thrilled.  I have 3 nice patches and was promised by my friend that they will multiply and no pinching back required.

For our Zone 7 gardens, the ‘Clara Curtis’ does well. I have mine planted in full sun, in a southern exposure.  The flowers have a faint pink color with a nice yellow.  I didn’t know when to expect them to bloom; my friend lives at the coast and his have not opened yet.  I noticed them blooming on the 15th so I will need to see how long the blooms last.

The literature says this mum is deciduous and hardy to zone 4, requires full sun to partial shade, medium water usage, will get 1 to 1.5 feet hight and a spread of 1.5 to 2 feet. The lit also says it attracts butterflies, but I haven’t seen any on them yet.  Mind you, I haven’t been looking long since I just remembered they were there!

2 Comments »

  1. Anna said

    I would like to try this one. I’ll check it out at the Farmer’s Market in Greensboro this spring. I’m impressed with how well it is doing in your garden.

  2. It impressed me as well. I haven’t actually seen it growing in a garden before.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

