Monday, October 13, 2008 Dovecote at Fearrington Village

For my December column in Metro Magazine, I’m once again listing great places to see Christmas design, places to buy wreaths, greenery and bows, plus places to buy great gifts for the gardener.   It occurred to me that it had been a while since I visited Fearrington Village.  As such, I made a special trip to Dovecote at Fearrington Village in Pittsboro, NC.  I’m glad I did.

I’d forgotten how lovely drive is.  To be in the country in the fall is always a treat – and not just any fall day.  Today was beautiful -near 80 with crystal blue skies.  Dovecote was as special as ever.  I took my time to wondered around  and see the gardens.  Fall gardens are magical to me.  I sort of understand why people don’t garden in the winter.  Of course I do and will continue to encourage others to do so, but I never understood the reluctance of others to garden in the fall.  The colors are intense.  The dry air gives a different feeling in the garden that is noticeable at no other time of the year.  The sounds in the garden are also different.  Soon the sugar Maples will begin to drop their leaves.  I like seeing them on the ground for as long a possible.  There are some who think this is leaf litter.  But to me, as long as they still have color, they are an accent – not litter.

I will happily list the Dovecote at Fearrington Village in my December column.  But I’m thinking tomorrow would be a good time go.

3 Comments »

  1. Anna said

    Oh–I would recognize a NC house anywhere. Yours is grand and I am looking forward to Christmas also. Good luck with this blog..looks like you got the writing thing down pat.

  2. gardensgardens said

    How nice for you to say Anna!

    I failed to mention this photo is of a Fearringon Village house…mine is not nearly as cute. But I’m with you, I live Christmas in the Carolinas. I also like having my own blog where I can actually say CHRISTMAS.

    Helen

  3. […] Monday, October 13, 2008 Dovecote at Fearrington Village […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

