Sunday, July 13, 2008 A Week Away

After a week at the beach and 3.75 inches of recorded rainfall, I returned to find Helen’s Haven Heavenly.  The Monarda opened, Salvias multiplied, Cleome stretched her limbs, and Echinacea intact thanks to spraying I MUST GARDEN rabbit magic before I left.  My garden just exploded while I was gone.  Even though the vacation was fun, I perversely missed my garden. Perhaps, it was because before I left I was neck high in Summer Solstice Celebration stuff and the photo shoots with Better Homes and Gardens, Country Gardens and Nature’s Garden; in any case, I was tired and admit the time spent in the garden was not as much fun as it was this morning.

Even the kids were excited to be back. Before we left for the beach, James Baggett, editor of Nature’s Garden Magazine, taught them how to pet bumble bees. This was a big hit and as soon as they returned, they wanted to try it again. James is amazing with children and teaching children about Nature’s Garden. It was such a joy to spend time with him and to learn from him. He is a kid magnet and I must admit I was following him around like he was my true north as well.

Helen Yoest (Philbrook)

Leave a Reply

