Sunday, January 10, 2010 Puttering in Helen’s Haven™

As punishment to last week’s complaint of cold weather in the 40s, I was given even worse weather this week where it stayed in the 20s and 30s.  It was a cold week in Helen’s Haven™.

Gardening With Confidence™ was recognized as Ecosystem Gardening’s 2009 Garden of the Year.

Gardening With Confidence™ was mentioned in Susan Reimer’s Garden Variety’s Blog again this month. Thank you Baltimore Sun!

And Lisa Gustavson with GetInTheGarden listed her favorite wilidlife bloggers in Follow the Leaders.

Thanks for mentioning Gardening With Confidence™; it’s an honor to be mentioned along with so many great, passionate wildlife bloggers.

365 DAYS IN THE GARDEN – everyday, there is something to do garden related….

4.  Break ice on bird feeders, added suet feed to supplemental feeders.

5. Read Plant Delight Nursery Catalog.

6. The early spring issue of Country Gardens arrived – Nice!

7.  Spoke to a garden club about Adding Winter Interest to your garden.

8. Ordered Pathenocissus tricuspidata, Boston Ivy ‘Fenway Park’ from Plant Delight Nursery.  Will pick up in April.

9.  Worked on three presentations, Creating Privacy Hedgerows, Designing With Vines, and The Business of Garden Coaching.

10.  Finalized plans for Garden Bloggers meeting in Buffalo!  This going to be so much fun.

Buffa10 Bloggers Meet-Up, 2010;


BOOK REPORT

Sent in full submission package to publisher.  Now we wait.  In the meantime, I wrote another chapter today.


WHAT’S SHE WRITING ABOUT NOW…
The Amaryllis Lives on in the Garden
January Garden Maintenance

The early spring issue of Country Garden had a nice little story I did about Beth Jimenez and Amelia Lane and their hypertufas through their business Lasting Impressions

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening with Confidence™

Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her facebook friend’s page, Helen Yoest or Gardening With Confidence™ Face Book Fan Page.

Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum

12 Comments »

  1. Janet said

    I tried to break the ice on the bird baths….it was solid. Poor birdies.
    Congrats on the Garden of the Year award.

  2. Thanks Janet! Stay warm and keep breaking the ice…our bird friends need it. I’ll co the same. H.

  3. TC Conner said

    Ha ha ha! I guess that’ll teach ya to whine about the cold! It’s 19 here right now and it was 5 when I went to bed last night.

    Congrats on being recognized like that. It’s always reassuring to know you’re writing stuff worthy of being shared with others. (But I already knew that.)

    Yay! and woo hoo!! on getting the submission package sent! I think I told you that I sent my query letter, waiting to hear back from that. I’ll be sending it out to others this week.

    • I know T.C., right? It’s 22 right now. So, I’m not saying a word. In fact, I getting out there! Ha! Good luck on your query letter and keep us posted. H.

  4. I’m so glad I’ll be able to meet you in Buffalo, Helen. Looking forward to the meet-up!

  5. Les said

    I am sooo glad that ‘Fenway Park’ is being offered by more people now. It is one of my favorite vines and for years it was only available from Hines, and they stopped carrying it. We were going to cuttings from mine and try to grow them.

    • Hey Les, it was hard to find. I was about to give up! I tried to root yours, but no luck. Later I learn it was hard to do so, so there you go. I bought two in case one doesn’t make ti! As you know, we have it on the side of the Visitor’s center at the JCRA. I tried to get Tim to root for me and even he said, naw, too hard to root – LOL

  6. meghan said

    did you check the progress of the boxwood hedge?

  7. Carole said

    Helen, I think it’s so funny that you’re complaining about being cold in NC and planning a trip to Buffalo. It’s REALLY cold there! Hope you packed a lot of warm clothes, and also that you had a wonderful time.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

