Sunday, November 22, 2009 A Week Puttering in Helen’s Haven

When doing some fall clean up in Helen’s Haven, I found this Praying Mantid egg case on the Lantana.

It was a gorgeous week and today was the best fall day.  Did a little more fall clean up in Helen’s Haven.  Aster and I cut back the tomatoes.  Looks like we will be having fried green tomatoes this week, yum.   We then planted red cabbage, greens and broccoli we had in a holding area thinking a freeze would have zapped the tomatoes by now.  It has happened yet.  I was getting impatient, so out came the ‘matters.

Aster working in his Victory Garden

After Aster’s clean up

Aster's Broccoli

Almost the last of the tomatoes

My friend M.A. Newcomer over at Idaho Gardener is having a writing contest on Why I Garden. I entered.  I needed to be able to answer the question for myself.  It was fun.  Here is  Why I Garden

Did a post on Helen’s Haven Woodland Gardens Fall Woodland Gardens One and Too.

I posted this sighting on Glenwood Avenue.  A Fall Blooming Native Dogwood? After doing so, I found this hollyhock blooming.  What a whicky-whacky year.

Hollyhock

Last winter I started a hedgerow on the south side of the Red Bed.  I’m happy to report all that was planted is doing well.  This means the planting survived last years harsh winter, but may have been blessed by a stressless summer.  Now that  I know the hedgerow will be filling in more, I decieded to begin to remove the daylilies that were there.  I’m about halfway done and will finish in the next week or so.  In the meantime, I transplanted three Crinums in their place.

The Crinums were in a place that could not support their height.  They needed to be moved.  I should have known from the get-go and probably did, but was in denial.

South side of Red Bed hedgerow. Before daylilies were removed

South side Red Bed hedgerow after some daylily editing and adding Crinums

Other maintenance in Helen’s Haven this week.

  • Mowed
  • Weeded
  • Pruned roses
  • Deadleafed Elephant ears

Went to an open house of my client.  They have moved in after an 8 month renovation.  Their home is absolutely gorgeous!

For this client, I designed the front and back.  The back has a lovely low maintenance design to complement the pool and pool house, garage, patio and view from 2nd floor balcony

For another client, I designed a new fence and gate.  My inspiration was the existing porch railing.  The fence/gate is an extension of the porch to the right of the photo below.

This porch railing was the inspiration for the fence and gate

New fence and gate. Made for scrap left over for the gazebo installation

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening with Confidence™

Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her facebook  friend’s page, Helen Yoest or Gardening With Confidence™ Face Book Fan Page.

Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum

3 Comments »

  1. tina said

    What a wonderful week!

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by HelenYoest: A week puttering in Helen’s Haven http://bit.ly/7SuSOu

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

