Fine Gardening Blog – November Inspiration

IMG_1832

Amsonia hubrechtii

As the first frost landed on my car window, I knew I would soon be called into action. Even though the ground temperature kept the frost from the garden, the need to put the garden to bed for the winter was on my heels. I went about my winter preparations happily, in anticipation of what I hoped would come. I was ready. Without this first frost, we can’t officially celebrate the fifth season–an Indian Summer.

As I walked into the back garden, I knew right away: Today we will have an Indian Summer. It may only last a day, maybe two. It may come again next week, or not. Indian Summers are unpredictable. Perhaps that is why it is so important to celebrate the season when it occurs: Tomorrow may be too late….

For the rest of the story, visit my monthly column at Fine Gardening November Inspiration

Helen Yoest is a garden writer and coach through her business Gardening With Confidence

Follow Helen on Twitter @HelenYoest and her Face Book friend’s page, Helen Yoest or Gardening With Confidence’s Fan page.

Helen also serves on the board of advisors for the JC Raulston Arboretum

3 Comments »

  1. […] Even though the ground temperature kept the frost from the garden , the need to put the garden to bed for the winter was on my heels. I went about my winter preparations happily, in anticipation of what I hoped would come Original post: Fine Gardening Blog – November Inspiration « Gardening With … […]

  2. Les said

    That was a nicely written piece. I had never considered it a fifth season, but may have to now. In some years fall can easily be the longest season, especially here in the south, so maybe it should be split.

    If you learn to fly, please let me know the secret.

  3. Thanks Les, Assuming I will also learn how to land, I’ll be sure to let you know my secret. H.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment