Zuni Gives 100 Days of Blooms!

July09HelensHavenYoest 059c

For a brief moment, 5 years ago, I knew the name of this Crepe Myrtle.  As soon as I sounded it out,  I forgot it.  I made some feeble attempts over the years  to id it, but gave up each effort as quickly as I lost the memory of the name.

I don’t say this lightly.  I’m not proud of it.

It recently became important to me to know her name.  I feel passion for this tree; of all my blooming trees, she gives me 100 days of blooms.    I owed her respect enough to know her name.  It’s no different, really,  than having a dog and only referring it as a poodle.  Just as the poodle has a name, so does my Crepe Myrtle.

Meet Lagerstroemia indica ‘Zuni’.

July09HelensHavenYoest 066c

‘Zuni’ is a star in my mixed border.  No southern garden would be complete without at least one Crepe Myrtle.  I have 7 Crepe Myrtle trees, 5 varieties…I like ‘Natchez’ so much, there are three of those.  But, If I had to, I could  trade all the others for this one.

Happy in my zone 7b (Zone 6 – 10) Mixed Border where she acts like a big ole blooming perennial.  ‘Zuni’ is very drought and mildew resistance offering pretty fall color late in the season.

To give credit where credit is due, Randy at Creating Our Eden suggested my CM as ‘Zuni’.  Ah, the power of the Internet.  I posed the identification of ‘Zuni” during my July Garden Blogger’s Bloom day post, and Randy answers.  Thanks Randy!

This was confirmed during a visit by Steve Bender of Southern Living,  “Yeah, ” he said, scratching his head, “It looks like a ‘Zuni’ to me.”  This scratching his head habit was witnessed many times as  I quizzed him during the week on plant identification.

If you want to learn more about growing Crepe Myrtles in the south, check out Southern Living’s Grumpy Gardener as he answers 10 of the most common questions about Crepe Myrtles.

Helen Yoest

Gardening With Confidence

11 Comments »

  1. 100 days? Wow! I use this plant quite a bit in garden designs, and did not realize it had such a long bloom cycle. I love the way its vibrant blooms keep on truckin along on those hot, hot days when everything else looks like it’s ready to wilt away from the heat.

  2. michelle said

    That one is a beauty.

  3. Janet said

    There is one Crape Myrtle down the street from me that is the darkest purple I have ever seen on a CM. I am tempted to go and ask for a soft wood cutting of it before I move.
    Glad you got yours ID-ed.

  4. Les said

    I am glad someone could help you. I ment to go through the files at work today, but it got over 90 and I spent most of the day on the other end of a hose, then had to rush off to pick someone up from summer school. I love that purple, but my favorite Crape color is the pink that is so intense it looks electrified and you have to reach for your shades.

  5. joey said

    Delightful! So wish I could grow this beautiful plant :(

  6. tina said

    Glad you got an id. It is beautiful. I agree no border is complete without one or two crepes.

  7. Randy said

    It’s such a beautiful color. I love Crepe Myrtles, the bloom time is so long, it’s really about the only color we have in the garden this time of year. We planted 12 last year, in a few more years they should be gorgeous specimens. I’m glad I could be of some help, it make me feel good to know I’m actually learning things as I go. :-)

  8. I need one of those! Love the color.

    Cameron

  9. [...] is still blooming.  The photo above was taken on August 21, 2009.  I posted about this wonderful Crepe Myrtle on July 16, 2009.  At that time, the Zuni had been blooming a couple of [...]

  10. Hi Cameron – came home from the nursery with a ‘Zuni’ based on their signage and immediately started searching. How cool that your post came up right away! Your photos and story have made me sure this was a good choice!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  11. Leo C said

    Hi, I’m also a big fan of crepe myrtles and was lucky enough to have about 5 Zuni’s all bunched together in our current garden when we bought the house 2 years ago. I have since split them apart and am hoping to plant them alongside eachother in a sunny patch in front of an even larger pink crepe myrtle, which is tree size. Any ideas of how tall and wide Zuni’s grow? Mine are very small, just under 1m tall but if they can have the opportunity to grow larger, I’d like to encourage it! Many thanks :)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

