Book Review – Planthropology by Ken Druse

planthropology-cover-055-1

If you like to read about myths, mysteries, and miracles in the gardening world, this book is for you.  It was enchanting to read Ken Druse’s latest book, Planthropology.

As a Christmas gift, the timing was perfect offering an excuse to escape for a good read.  This was just the read I needed.

The book’s contents were in four organized parts:  Discovery, Attractions, Elegant Design, and Growing Forward.  The amazing photos were organized to enrich each part and each chapter within it’s respective part.  Ken gives gracious nods to those who have influenced his learning process and discovery which made the read even more enchanting.

As I’m reading and gushing over the photos, it strikes me that there are alien looking plant such as a Banksia that capitivated his heart, as well as, old fashioned ones, like  the thornless, climbing, double-butter-yellow-flowered Land Banks rose.  And speaking of Banks, who knew?  The story of Joseph Banks with Captain James Cook in 1768 was fascinating.  Ken offers wondrous, adventurous looks in the life of plants and those who love them.

I’ve already found myself reaching for the book again to recall a date, an adventure, or just rereading a paragraph presenting a description well worth repeating.  A wonderful book for any garden lover.

5 Comments »

  1. I have several of Ken’s books. One of my favorites is the Shade Garden (when I had a shade garden). Great garden writing and expert advice.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on his latest book,
    Cameron

  2. VP said

    I’ve got this one in my Amazon wishlist – I think it’ll be placed firmly in my basket once the Christmas bills have been paid this month :)

    I’ve been lucky enough to see Banks’ original work in the library at Kew and to handle a couple of the specimens of his in their herbarium. It’s like holding history in your hands. Wonderful stuff.

  3. Joy said

    I love a good garden book and this sounds just that : )
    Funny how we can totally lose ourselves in these books .. for me it is like time stopped and I stepped into another world while I read these types of books.
    Thanks !
    Joy

  4. Philip said

    This looks interesting. Thanks for the review.
    Philip

  5. ken said

    Thanks for your kind words about Planthropology. The books seems to be capturing a lot of peoples’ imaginations.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

